Out of the Mouths of Babes

While eating dinner with my daughter, she started talking about how we’re eating healthier foods. She believes that her belly has gotten smaller as a result. She started looking at me with an apprehensive expression on her face. “My friend Sara’s mom put her on a diet. This is not a topic that I wanted to tackle with my daughter at the age of 9. I told her that a diet is everything we eat, and that sometimes people add more of some things and less of others. Then, I asked if she knew why they changed Sara’s diet. She said no. I then explained that it could be something like a new food allergy or something suggested by her doctor. The way she mentioned it, it seemed that it had to do with weight loss, so I asked if that was why she mentioned her belly. It was. I then pointed out that she just finished a growth spurt, and that she’s been running around outside a whole lot more than previously. Both will shrink her belly.

Her new health teacher was also speaking about a healthy diet yesterday. She told the class that they should only eat half of their meal when they go out to a restaurant. Along with that, she had that they should drink 8 8oz glasses of water a day. 64 ounces of water is a lot for a 70 lb child. Isn’t it half your weight in ounces? Like, my girl should have 35 ounces of water? Kids meals are not all that big. My girl will be starving if she ate half a sandwich and a few apple slices. The teacher was also promoting skim milk. Children’s bodies require fat. Also, aren’t they trying to introduce aspartame into low fat milks? We will have none of that toxic junk here. I’m not too happy with the health teacher thus far.

She’s eating less processed stuff right along with me. My intent is not to trim down my already slender girl. I want us to be healthier. For me, more slender will come from that. For her, she will just continue to grow as she is supposed to. We consume every part of the food pyramid. I told her that if she’s hungry, then she should eat. Don’t stuff yourself, don’t starve yourself, listen to your body.

7 thoughts on “Out of the Mouths of Babes

  1. Sounds Like you said the right things!

    Some of the “healthy” stuff the teacher was advocating sounds like setting kids up for future eating disorders 😦 that is really worrying.

    • Thank you.
      I am worried as well. I know that in her last school they weighed and measured the children and sent home the information in a packet with advice and nutrition suggestions. I’m tempted to send a note to this school and let them know that they are not to measure or weigh my child. She has a doctor for that. I’m pretty sure I’ll be reviewing any health homework with her carefully.

      • Blimey! No! Weighing and measuring children is a doctors business not a school’s! Health classes should teach about a healthy balanced diet and that going and playing out or playing sport is good for your health! It shouldn’t be about low fat or weight! As an ex science teacher, we had to teach about health but the emphasis was on balance! Can you ask them for a copy of the curriculum or books they are using? Definitely review homework! You are doing exactly right by teaching hear a healthy balanced outlook!

      • I’m trying to do the right thing by my daughter. It is really hard with information coming at her from all angles. I support teaching balance, even the effects some foods have on our bodies. Beyond that, they really need to stay out of it.

      • I agree. There is so much dangerous info out there about “diets” and what is “right” schools should be teaching truth and the truth we know is as you say balance and effects of some things.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

