Plan change.

I made it through my second session of C25k. Apparently, I should have stopped when the pain in my ankle started. I now have a sprained ankle. I didn’t know that I didn’t know how to run. I thought I was stepping correctly. I didn’t hit any holes or anything crazy. I just landed and holy moley my ankle was huuurrting!

So now I don’t know what to do. Walking hurts. I have it wrapped up, but I still need to step very carefully. I might move to swimming until it heals. I don’t want to just keep hurting it more. I’ll watch my food, so I should be able to at least maintain my weight. I think I’m in for a gain tomorrow since it is that time and I’m retaining water like a balloon. We’ll see.

That’s it, I have nothing good to report. I’m not giving up. I’m just changing the plan.

5 thoughts on “Plan change.

  1. “I’m not giving up. I’m just changing the plan.” THIS!!!!

    Give your ankle some time. Yes, go low impact – swim and bike are great low impact! Try icing it – 20 minutes on/20 minutes off and elevate it. I’m not a doctor, but that’s what I do when I feel like I’ve jacked something up. My knee gets sensitive when I run a lot so I ice/elevate often with it.

    Though, maybe you shouldn’t take my advice – hell, I broke my tibia and had no clue for almost a year until my Dr. called me out on it. HAHA! Don’t be like me, listen to your body.

  2. You know, I should have iced it. The thought didn’t even occur to me. I’ve been on my feet since it happened, just moving a lot slower than usual. I wonder if it is too late for ice. It is still swollen, so I would say no. Then again, I’m not a Dr either.

  3. I don’t think it’s ever too late for ice. I cringe just thinking about it. Maybe a day or two off from anything involving your ankle? I know I have to do that sometimes with my pesky back.

  4. It’s never too late for ice! Remember the price method. Protect, rest, ice, compress, and elevate! Nsaids will help the swelling go down as well! I hope you feel better dear! I can’t imagine how frustrated I would get!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

