I Choose Me

Image

I have heard that you are more likely to cheat on a diet when you are tired. Today, I see why. I was in bed at my usual time last night, but I am so very tuckered out today. I arrived at the office and went to the cafeteria to grab a donut. I did not take one. I woke up enough to stop myself and scurry back to my desk and eat my peach I brought for snack. I have unhealthy carbs dancing through my head. Is this my brain’s way of looking for energy? I think it might be.

Today will be day 2 of the Couch to 5k program for me. I don’t want to do anything today, but there is no doubt that I will drag my butt to the gym and wog my way through 30 minutes on that treadmill. I will feel better after. I am certain of it. I could easily sit at my desk all day instead, but what will that give me? It’ll give me a cloudy head and guilt later. That doesn’t sound like an improvement to me. The hardest part is showing up, starting.

Creating a healthy life really is a journey. Even on days when you’re tired, not in the mood, or whatever, it doesn’t stop. I am deciding to move closer to my goal instead of taking a step back. I will thank me later. Today will feel like a victory instead of something that I need to make up for.

2 thoughts on “I Choose Me

  1. I’m struggling right now. I chose to not walk yesterday because of an event at work that I knew would take a lot of my energy. Today I was too tired after working late for the event. Tomorrow is another day for me. Hope you had a good one!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

