Get Up and Go!

I woke up early this morning and I rolled over to go back to sleep. Then I stopped. My eyes flew open and I sprang to life. This is the “extra” time that I’ve been waiting for (making excuses about not having). I did 20 crunches and 20 reverse crunches and then brought out our lunch bags to start packing them. Then I did 10 push ups on my knees, followed up with washing grapes to bag up. I was back on the floor then with my crunches and reverse crunches… made our sandwiches… push ups… boil water for oatmeal… crunches… and so on until our lunches were packed and breakfast was on the table. Now that is a morning I can be happy with.

I tried something yesterday, and I’m continuing with it today. I am drinking 24 oz of water before I eat. I had one before breakfast. I will finish the one I have now before I have a snack, another before lunch and so on. Not only does it make sure that I get my water in for the day, but It makes me aware of what I’m putting in my mouth. Snacking isn’t so urgent when you have 15 more oz of water to go. Mindful consumption.

It would be comfortable for me to have just gone back to sleep. It would also be comfortable for me to mindlessly munch my way through my day. However, all my comfort has made me not so comfortable in my own skin. I want to be proud of my day, not comfortable with it. Great changes are underway!

2 thoughts on “Get Up and Go!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

